The Municipality is located between latitudes 5°35'N and 5°65'N, and longitudes 6°35'W and 6°90'W. It covers a total land area of 162.4km. Obuasi is located in the southern part of the Ashanti Region of Ghana. The Municipality is bounded on the south by the Upper Denkyira District of the Central Region, on the East and on the West by the Adansi South, and by the Amansie Central District respectively, and on the north by the Adansi North District. Obuasi is the capital town. There are 63 communities in the Municipality, 48 of which have obtained urban status.

The Municipality has two parliamentary constituencies (Obuasi West and East), 30 Electoral Areas, and four (4) zonal councils, namely; Tutuka/Odumasi, Obuasi Central, Brahabebome/Akaporiso, Kunka/Anyinam and Kwabrafoso/Wawasi. The population of the Municipality is 168,641 as at (2010 Population and Housing census figures) March, 2010 with an annual growth rate of 4.0% Sex distribution is 52% female and 48% male and is home of one of the richest gold mines in the world. Obuasi is 64km from Kumasi the Regional Capital.


The Municipal Assembly remained under the political and administrative direction of the Municipal Chief Executive Hon. Richard Ofori Boadi, whiles Mr. Charles Oteng remained the head of bureaucracy in the Municipality as the Municipal Co-coordinating Director.

Organizational Structure


High standard of living of the people, achieved through a diversified Municipality's economic base, reduce poverty levels, enhanced employment avenues, social protection, wealth creation, efficient municipal services and well protected and adequate access to social services, security of the vulnerable and the excluded and a clean environment within a decentralized local government service.


The Assembly is to create equal opportunity for all and stakeholder participation in governance in order to ensure high living standards for the people by formulating and executing policies, programmes and projects and for the effective mobilization of human, material and financial resources and the total development of the Municipality.


The Municipal Assembly performs its functions as stipulated in the legislative instrument 1795 that established it in 2000 as prescribed in the general legal framework of Act 462 and 656. Accordingly, resolutions of the Assembly, the Executive committee and its sub committees as well as policy decisions of the Government have been implemented.